Meiji University

Meiji University was founded in 1881 as the Meiji Law School. It has become one of the most prominent private universities in Japan, and celebrates its 130th anniversary in 2011. Meiji University currently consists of nine undergraduate schools and nine graduate schools, in addition to the Law School, Professional Graduate School, Junior High Schools and High Schools, which has more than 32,000 students in three campuses: Surugadai, Izumi, and Ikuta. The forth campus is expected to open in 2013.

Department of Architecture

Our Department was established in 1949 by three important figures: Sutemi Horiguchi, Teruo Kohno and Kaname Watanabe. Their successors respectively formed three fields of the department: i) Planning, Design & Management, ii) Structural & Material Engineering, iii) Environmental & Building Services Engineering. The Department of Architecture has strong faculty members and over 700 students in total including undergraduate and graduate program.

New Program in Nakano Campus

These days, the smaller the world becomes with advanced technology and transportation progress, the more we will need skillful planners and designers, who can act globally and professionally. The Architecture Major of the Graduate School of Science and Technology of Meiji University opens a new program of "International Program in Architecture and Urban Design" to enhance globally active professionals in a newly designed Nakano campus.